List of banks in India 2021

Indian banking sector is one of the robust banking system in the world. Banks are divided into categories like public sector banks, private sector banks, payments banks, foreign banks, regional rural banks, cooperative banks etc. There are 80 + Indian banks and 40+ foreign banks in India as of March 2021 in 741 Indian districts as of now. Below is the complete list of banks in India. You may download the banks list in Excel or PDF at the bottom of the page.
To find all banks IFSC codes please use IFSC Code Tool.

bank list in india

List of All Indian Banks

  1. Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bank
  2. Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank
  3. Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bank
  4. Aryavart Bank
  5. Assam Gramin Vikash Bank
  6. Au Small Finance Bank Limited
  7. Axis Bank Ltd
  8. Bandhan Bank Ltd
  9. Bangiya Gramin Vikas Bank
  10. Bank of Baroda
  11. Bank of India
  12. Bank of Maharashtra
  13. Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bank
  14. Baroda Rajasthan Kshetriya Gramin Bank
  15. Baroda UP Bank
  16. Canara Bank
  17. Capital Small Finance Bank Limited
  18. Central Bank of India
  19. Chaitanya Godavari Grameena Bank
  20. Chhattisgarh Rajya Gramin Bank
  21. City Union Bank Ltd
  22. CSB Bank Ltd
  23. Dakshin Bihar Gramin Bank
  24. DCB Bank Ltd
  25. Dhanlaxmi Bank Ltd
  26. Ellaquai Dehati Bank
  27. Equitas Small Finance Bank Limited
  28. ESAF Small Finance Bank Limited
  29. Federal Bank Ltd
  30. Fincare Small Finance Bank Limited
  31. Fino Payments Bank Limited
  32. HDFC Bank Ltd
  33. Himachal Pradesh Gramin Bank
  34. ICICI Bank Ltd
  35. IDBI Bank Ltd
  36. IDFC First Bank Ltd
  37. India Post Payments Bank Limited
  38. Indian Bank
  39. Indian Overseas Bank
  40. Induslnd Bank Ltd
  41. J&K Grameen Bank
  42. Jammu & Kashmir Bank Ltd
  43. Jana Small Finance Bank Limited
  44. Jharkhand Rajya Gramin Bank
  45. Karnataka Bank Ltd
  46. Karnataka Gramin Bank
  47. Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank
  48. Karur Vysya Bank Ltd
  49. Kerala Gramin Bank
  50. Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd
  51. Lakshmi Vilas Bank Ltd
  52. Madhya Pradesh Gramin Bank
  53. Madhyanchal Gramin Bank
  54. Maharashtra Gramin Bank
  55. Manipur Rural Bank
  56. Meghalaya Rural Bank
  57. Mizoram Rural Bank
  58. Nagaland Rural Bank
  59. Nainital Bank Ltd
  60. North East Small Finance Bank Limited
  61. Odisha Gramya Bank
  62. Paschim Banga Gramin Bank
  63. Prathama UP Gramin Bank
  64. Puduvai Bharathiar Grama Bank
  65. Punjab & Sind Bank
  66. Punjab Gramin Bank
  67. Punjab National Bank
  68. Rajasthan Marudhara Gramin Bank
  69. RBL Bank Ltd
  70. Saptagiri Grameena Bank
  71. Sarva Haryana Gramin Bank
  72. Saurashtra Gramin Bank
  73. South Indian Bank Ltd
  74. State Bank of India
  75. Suryoday Small Finance Bank Limited
  76. Tamil Nadu Grama Bank
  77. Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Ltd
  78. Telangana Grameena Bank
  79. Tripura Gramin Bank
  80. UCO Bank
  81. Ujjivan Small Finance Bank Limited
  82. Union Bank of India
  83. Utkal Grameen bank
  84. Utkarsh Small Finance Bank Limited
  85. Uttar Bihar Gramin Bank
  86. Uttarakhand Gramin Bank
  87. Uttarbanga Kshetriya Gramin Bank
  88. Vidharbha Konkan Gramin Bank
  89. YES Bank Ltd

List of Foreign Banks in India

There are many foreign banks that have branches in India. Below is the list:

  1. Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Ltd
  2. Westpac Banking Corporation
  3. Bank of Bahrain & Kuwait BSC
  4. AB Bank Ltd
  5. Sonali Bank Ltd
  6. Bank of Nova Scotia
  7. Industrial & Commercial Bank of China Ltd
  8. BNP Paribas
  9. Credit Agricole Corporate & Investment Bank
  10. Societe Generale
  11. Deutsche Bank
  12. HSBC Ltd
  13. PT Bank Maybank Indonesia TBK
  14. Mizuho Bank Ltd
  15. Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
  16. The Bank of Tokyo- Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd
  17. Cooperatieve Rabobank UA
  18. Doha Bank
  19. Qatar National Bank
  20. JSC VTB Bank
  21. Sberbank
  22. United Overseas Bank Ltd
  23. FirstRand Bank Ltd
  24. Shinhan Bank
  25. Woori Bank
  26. KEB Hana Bank
  27. Industrial Bank of Korea
  28. Kookmin Bank
  29. Bank of Ceylon
  30. Credit Suisse AG
  31. CTBC Bank Co, Ltd
  32. Krung Thai Bank Public Co Ltd
  33. Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank Ltd
  34. Mashreq Bank PSC
  35. First Abu Dhabi Bank PJSC
  36. Emirates Bank NBD
  37. Barclays Bank Plc
  38. Standard Chartered Bank
  39. NatWest Markets Plc
  40. American Express Banking Corporation
  41. Bank of America
  42. Citibank
  43. JP Morgan Chase Bank
  44. SBM Bank (India) Limited
  45. DBS Bank India Limited
  46. Bank of China Ltd

You may also check a separate list of Indian public sector banks.

Download the Banks List in PDF and Excel Format

Last updated: March – 2021.

Indian District and State Download Excel
Banks List in India in PDF

The above list contains banks that participate in NEFT System. Almost all the banks now participate in NEFT system or arrange translations via other authorized banks. Regional Rural Banks (RRBs) are also Government banks but they operate in rural areas of the country. The above list does not include RRB. RRB banks provide almost all banking solutions including debit /credit cards, locker and loans.

What’s New

The Finance Ministery announced of privatisation of two state-run banks in during budget session 2021-22.

Recently RBI accepted applications for 11 payment banks in 2015. These payment banks include India Post Payment Bank, Paytm Payment Bank and Reliance’s JIO Payment Bank and they have been actively participating in NEFT system.

IDBI Bank was acquired by LIC of India in January 2019.

Three new banks, The Vijay Co-Operative Bank Limited, Sant Sopankaka Sahakari Bank Ltd and Nav Jeevan Co. Op. Bank Ltd have been introduced recently in RBI NEFT participants list.
Vijaya Bank and Dena Bank have been merged with Bank of Baroda making it third-largest lender in India.
The Kerala State Co-Operative Bank Ltd has entered into the list of NEFT participating banks with new financial year.

Central government has announced and important update that there will be a merger of Public Sector Banks. After merger there will be 12 Public Sector Banks left.

PMC Bank has been put under restrictions by the RBI after an whopping Rs.4,355 crore scam came out of the shadow. Account holders of the bank faced limit on withdrawal of Rs.1,000. It created chaos and panic among depositors. Later the withdrawal limit has been increased to Rs.50,000 after witnessing distress among consumers.

After the incident, as per RBI directives, IFSC codes of Maharashtra Co-operative Bank Limited are disabled.

RBI mega merger drive announced by RBI in August 2019 has been implemented with effect from 1st April 2020. After the merger there are 12 public sector banks left in India now.

Was this post helpful?