Meghalaya Bank Holidays 2018

Meghalaya has 21 declared bank holidays. These 21 bank holidays do not include Sunday and second/fourth Saturday. Holidays declared under Negotiable Instrument Act by Meghalaya State Government are observed by all the Banks in that state.

meghalaya bank holidays 2018

Below is the list of bank holidays in Meghalaya for 2018.

Date Reason / Remarks
Monday, January 1, 2018 New Year’s Day
Friday, January 26, 2018 Republic Day
Friday, March 2, 2018 Holi (Second Day)/Dol Jatra/Chapchar Kut/Dhulandi
Friday, March 30, 2018 Good Friday
Saturday, June 16, 2018 Ramzan Id (Id-ul-Fitr)/Maharana Pratap Jayanti
Tuesday, July 3, 2018 Beh Dienkhlam
Tuesday, July 17, 2018 U Tirot Sing Day
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 Independence Day
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 Bakri Id (Id-ul-Zuha)
Monday, September 3, 2018 Krishna Jayanthi/Janmashtmi (Shravan Vad-8)
Tuesday, October 2, 2018 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Friday, October 19, 2018 Durga Puja/Dussehra (Vijaya Dashmi)/Kati Bihu
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 Diwali Amavasaya (Laxmi Pujan)
Friday, November 9, 2018 Bhai Duj/Wangala Festival/Bhai Tika/Ningol Chakkouba/Chitragupt Jayanti
Friday, November 23, 2018 Guru Nanak Jayanti/Kartika Purnima/Seng Kut Snem/Friday following Eid-I-Milad-ul-Nabi
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 Pa-Togan Nengminza Sangma
Tuesday, December 18, 2018 Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham
Monday, December 24, 2018 Christmas Festival
Tuesday, December 25, 2018 Christmas
Wednesday, December 26, 2018 Christmas Festival
Sunday, December 30, 2018 U Kiang Nangbah

There are 11 districts of in Meghalaya. The above listed Meghalaya Bank Holidays 2018 are observed in all 11 districts of Meghalaya.

1 East Garo Hills
2 East Jaintia Hills
3 East Khasi Hills
4 North Garo Hills
5 Ri Bhoi
6 South Garo Hills
7 South West Garo Hills
8 South West Khasi Hills
9 West Garo Hills
10 West Jaintia Hills
11 West Khasi Hills

About Meghalaya

Meghalaya is a state of India that has a population of estimated 3,211,474 people. Meghalaya covers an area of approx 22,430km2. It is known as wettest region of India. It records an average rainfall of 470 inches every year. About 70% of the state is forested by heavy vegetation. English is official language of Meghalaya and is widely spoken in the region. There are a lot of languages in this region like Khasi 34%, Garo 30.5% , Jaintia 18.5%, Bengali 7.5%, nepali 3.5%, hajong 1.2%, Biate 1.1%, and there are other languages falls under others category namely Tiwa, Rabha, Kuki, Sheikh etc. about 74.59% of people are Christians, 11.52% of people are Hindu, 4.39% are Islam followers and rest are under others categories. Symbol of the state are – state animal Clouded leopard, bird Hill myna, flower Lady’s Slipper Orchid and tree Gamhar.